Clean Bandit

Clean Bandit is an English electronic music band, formed in Cambridge in 2008. The band consists of Grace Chatto, and brothers Jack and Luke Patterson. Their 2011 single “Mozart’s House” reached number 17 on the UK Singles Chart when re-released in 2013. In January 2014, they scored their first UK chart topping single with “Rather Be”, a collaboration with Jess Glynne, featuring elements of both classical and dance music. The song also reached number 10 on the US Billboard Hot 100.

In 2015, “Rather Be” won the Grammy Award for Best Dance Recording. Their 2016 single “Rockabye”, which features Jamaican dancehall artist Sean Paul and singer Anne-Marie, became their second number-one hit in the UK, becoming the Christmas number one single for 2016 in its seventh consecutive week at number one. The song became an international chart topper for the band, and also charted at number 9 in the US. Clean Bandit have sold over 13 million singles and 1.6 million albums worldwide.

At the 2015 Coachella Festival, the group performed the song “Disconnect”, featuring vocals from Marina and the Diamonds. On 27 May 2016, they released their first single since March 2015, entitled “Tears”, and features vocals from The X Factor 2015 winner Louisa Johnson. The song peaked at number 5 in the singles chart a week after they performed it on Britain’s Got Talent.

On 19 October 2016, an announcement on their Facebook page stated that violinist and pianist Neil Amin-Smith had decided to leave the group. Neil made a separate announcement to this effect on his Twitter account. Two days later, the group released their first song without Amin-Smith: “Rockabye”, which features rapper Sean Paul and singer Anne-Marie. “Rockabye” became their second number-one hit in the UK, and remained at number one for nine weeks, and went on to become the Christmas number one single for 2016. The song became an international chart topper for the band, becoming number 1 in the UK, Republic of Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, Austria, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Sweden and Switzerland and a Top 5 hit in Canada, France, Norway. It has also charted at number 9 on Billboard Hot 100 in the US.

On 17 March 2017, the trio released “Symphony”, a collaboration with Swedish singer Zara Larsson. The song topped the UK Singles Chart for one week in April of that year, becoming the group’s third number-one single in the country. They gave their first live performance of the song on The Voice UK on 18 March 2017. On 23 June the band released the studio version of “Disconnect” with Marina and the Diamonds.

In October 2017, the band announced their next single, succeeding “Disconnect”, entitled “I Miss You”, featuring renowned songwriter Julia Michaels.

In early December 2017, the band announced that their album is scheduled to be released within the early months of 2018. They also revealed that all the songs that they have released so far after their debut album will be on the new album. Additionally, they had written a song for One Direction member Harry Styles to feature on and also have songs ready for the album that feature the likes of Rhodes, Elton John and Gallant.

On 10 May 2018, they announced the second album’s fifth single, entitled “Solo”, featuring vocals from Demi Lovato. In June 2018, “Solo” topped the UK Singles Chart.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *