Little Mix

Little Mix are a British girl group formed in 2011 during the eighth series of the UK version of The X Factor. They were the first group to win the competition, and following their victory, they signed with Simon Cowell’s record label Syco Music and released a cover of Damien Rice’s “Cannonball” as their winner’s single. The members are Jade Thirlwall, Perrie Edwards, Leigh-Anne Pinnock, and Jesy Nelson.

Little Mix released their debut album DNA in 2012, which peaked inside the top 10 in ten countries including the UK and US. This made Little Mix the first girl group since the Pussycat Dolls to reach the US top five with their debut album, as well as earning the highest debut US chart position for a British girl group’s first release, breaking the record previously held by the Spice Girls. The group’s second album Salute (2013) became their second album to debut inside the top 10 in both the UK and US. Their third album Get Weird was released in 2015. Their fourth album Glory Days (2016) became their first number one album in the UK, and also achieved the longest-reigning girl group number one album since the Spice Girls’ debut album 20 years earlier, and the highest first week UK album sales for a girl band since 1997. In the UK, the group has earned four number-one singles, including “Wings”, “Black Magic” and “Shout Out to My Ex”.

The group won Best British Single for “Shout Out to My Ex” at the 2017 Brit Awards; they have also received several other awards during their career, including two MTV Europe Music Awards, two Teen Choice Awards and two Glamour Awards. As of August 2018, the group has achieved four platinum certified albums and sixteen certified singles in the UK. Little Mix appeared on Debrett’s 2017 list of the most influential people in the UK.

The group announced on 27 November 2017 that they would be undertaking the Summer Hits Tour 2018, with tickets going on sale on 30 November. It began on 24 March 2018 in Chiba, Japan, by headlining the POPSPRING Festival 2018. This is the group’s first stadium tour.

In February 2018, Pinnock announced that the group were working on their fifth album, set for release in 2018, and that there would be a tour to accompany the album.

On 14 June 2018, it was revealed that a song by Little Mix and American DJ trio Cheat Codes, “Only You”, would be part of the compilation album The Pool Party, to be released on 6 July 2018 by Ministry of Sound. The song was released on 22 June 2018.

On 30 September 2018, the group announced “Woman Like Me”, the lead single from their upcoming fifth studio album, featuring Trinidadian-born American rapper Nicki Minaj on the official social media accounts. It was released on 12 October 2018.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *